#koalafiedtoteach

Welcome friends to my abroad teaching blog!!

I’m an ambitious student teacher studying for my Elementary Ed Degree from Central Michigan University and about to embark upon the journey of a lifetime finishing up my Student Teaching Experience in Canberra, Australia.

When I was first given the assignment to journal my Australia Student Teaching Experience I knew right away that I wanted to go digital and blog my way through the adventure  of teaching in a foreign land. But the whole idea of writing down my travels for the sake of a grade seemed, like a dead end. I wanted to find a way for this blog to have a future, for it to make an impact and for my experience to continue long after I return to the states.

So that was great, but I had no idea what that’d mean or what direction I wanted to run with it. My answer came on March 3rd at the West Michigan Student Teaching Fire Up Conference held at Grand Valley State University . The number of sessions offered was overwhelming!! There were so many that I wanted to go to, but by the time session #5 rolled around I seriously debated ducking out early, heading to a coffee shop and putting all the new knowledge into use while lesson planning for my precious kiddos at my current 3rd grade placement. The reason I stuck around though was a session that caught my eye when I first looked at the schedule entitled, ” Using a Teacher Blog to do Awesome Stuff (Including Getting a Job)”.  Honestly, that’s what kept me there…and I’m too much of a rule follower to actually skip out early from a professional conference. But I’m so glad I did!! Dave Stuart Jr., author of Teaching The Core presented a simplistic approach to writing an impactful blog. He encouraged potential bloggers to set two types of goals; easily attainable goals and dreaming big goals. My elementary wired, creative brain danced with ideas and possibilities. I had the pleasure of speaking briefly with Dave after the presentation and was further inspired, and recommitted to the blog I was once not excited about.

So here we are, a blog about teaching in Australia. Sure I hope it serves as a delayed but on-going conversation between me and all of you, but I also hope it reaches to heights further than that.

In the first portion of my placement I was super blessed by 24 little 3rd grade. These nuggets provide me with relentless joy, ab-crunching humor, brutal honesty, constant challenges and unending opportunities to grow. They stole my heart from the day I walked in room 401 and I’m starting to believe I won’t get it back any time soon. These kids are some stellar students. 🙂 Unfortunately some of them have never had the opportunity to travel 20 minutes to Downtown Grand Rapids or 40 minutes to see Lake Michigan. Sadly, that means they probably will never be able to travel the world to see other states let alone other countries.

So that’s where my dream for them comes into play. I wish to cater my travels to the needs and curiosity of my students, while of course learning a TON myself, so that they can enjoy, grow from and learn with me abroad.  Starting with my 3rd Graders in Grand Rapids traveling second handedly with me to Canberra, Australia.

‘Pack your brains’ cause we’re making a trip to the Down Under!!

Leave a Reply

